Creamy Cheesy Scalloped Potato Pie

What’s your favorite recipe?

Creamy and cheesy scallop potato pie (the recipe)

I have been making scallop potatoes since in high school via Food and Nutrition classes. And my favorite is the roux sauce version. The creaminess is like a divine heavenly feel. The stringy gooey cheese stretching from the pie to my mouth. I just love it.

Scallop potato pie is a staple dish made from potatoes ( my favorite potato to use is Irish). It’s the main potato on the island. It’s also made of a creamy sauce, seasoned and top with cheese. I have seen some people use breadcrumbs but that’s not my cup of tea.

As I write I can remember my first time making this pie it was a delight. I never thought cooking would have been so easy and fun at the same time. Like the roux sauce, it sounds so complex but yet so simple to attempt. After all, it is just butter, flour, milk but I love to add cheese for an ultimate cheesy sauce.

Through the years I experimented with quicker versions like the Cream of Mushroom. You know like buying a can of it and using it to replace the roux sauce for a quicker meal. I have come to dislike it but I would eat it if someone made that version of a scalloped potato pie. But to me, nothing beats the flavor of a freshly done season cheesy roux sauce. My tummy thinks it is the best and I agree!

Leave a comment